DOTr Release Designs of LRT-MRT Common Station, Construction to Start December 2017

The Department of Transportation (DOTr) released the official design of the long-delayed LRT-MRT Common Station as they also announced that the construction of the project which was finally agreed upon by the Duterte admin and both business conglomerates who were clashing to where the project should be erected will start this coming December 2017.

Some of the country's largest conglomerates such as SM Prime Holdings Inc., Universal LRT Corporation (BVI) Limited of the San Miguel Corporation (SMC), Light Rail Manila Corporation (LRMC), North Triangle Depot Commercial Corporation (NTDCC) signed a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with the Department of Public Works and Highways, Light Rail Transit Authority (LRTA), and the Department of Transportation (DOTr) for a common LRT-MRT station.

Based upon the MOA signed by the government agencies involved under Pres. Rody Duterte, the common station will be basis of its detailed engineering design. It will link LRT Line 1 and MRT 3 as well as the soon-to-be constructed MRT-7.

The project which was stalled for several years due to the reasons that some of the countr's major conglomerates could not agree with the location of the project until President Rody Duterte came to office who has the political will to pursue the project.

Under the leadership of Pres. Duterte through government agencies such the DPWH and the DOTr together with the business sectors, the common station project seeks to provide seamless transfer of passengers and interconnectivity between the railway line and it is expected to be completed by April 2019.

The LRT-MRT Common Station will be located between the SM North and Trinoma in Quezon City. According to the DOTr the project will be broken down into three components: Area A the platform for LRT-1 and MRT-3 are located; Area B consists of two common walkways connecting Area A and C; and Area C, the platform for MRT-7 is located.

The DOTr will finance the construction of the P2.8 billion Area while the operation, maintenance and development will be split between LMRC for LRT-1 and DOTr for MRT-3.

Area B will be financed and built by the NTDCC, an affiliate of Ayala Land Inc., and will be in charge of its operation, maintenance and development.

Area C will be financed by SMC who will also operate, maintain and develop the area while the DPWH will build an underpass along EDSA at the area where the common station will be located.

Source: DOTr /

DOTr Release Designs of LRT-MRT Common Station, Construction to Start December 2017 DOTr Release Designs of LRT-MRT Common Station, Construction to Start December 2017 Reviewed by Phil Newsome on 1/19/2017 Rating: 5

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.