List of Senators & Representatives Who Voted "NO" for DENR Sec. Gina Lopez Confirmation

The powerful Commission on Appointments (CA) composed of the members from the Philippine Senate and the House of Representatives rejected the appointment of Gina Lopez as Secretary of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) on Wednesday May 3, 2017.

The former DENR Secretary Lopez failed to pass the CA after four senators and all the members of the House of Representatives who sits as CA member voted NO against the popular environmentalist.

For the past few months, Sec. Gina Lopez faced strong opposition from some of the country's largest mining companies after she quickly ordered the closure of 23 mines and ordered suspensions of other mines who did not pass the agency's evaluation.

Sec. Lopez also canceled future open pit mining projects in the Philippines. During the announcement of the decision of the CA rejecting Gina Lopez, netizens were surprised that some of the closest allies of Pres. Duterte voted against the appointment of Gina Lopez while the opposition senators supported the former secretary.

The CA did not released yet the official numbers or the name of politicians who voted for or against the confirmation of Sec. Gina Lopez. According to some reports the CA voted 16-8 rejecting Gina Lopez. 

ABS-CBN released released the List of Names of those who Voted For or Against Gina Lopez:


  1. Chairman of CA Committee Sen. Manny Pacquiao
  2. Sen. Francis Pangilinan
  3. Sen. Franklin Drilon
  4. Sen. JV Ejercito
  5. Sen. Loren Legarda
  6. Sen. Bam Aquino
  7. Sen. Ralph Recto
  8. Sen. Vicente Sotto


  1. Sen. Alan Peter Cayetano
  2. Sen. Gringo Honasan
  3. Sen. Juan Miguel Zubiri
  4. Sen. Panfilo Lacson
  5. 7th District of Cavite Rep. Abraham Tolentino
  6. Davao Del Norte, 2nd District Rep. Antonio Floirendo Jr.
  7. Cebu, 4th District Rep. Benhur Salimbangon
  8. Ilo-ilo Rep. Jerry TreƱas
  9. Davao Oriental, 2nd District Rep. Joel Mayo Almario
  10. Occidental Mindoro, Lone District Rep. Josephine Ramirez-Sato
  11. Party List – A TEACHER Rep. Julieta Cortuna
  12. Isabela, 1st District Rep. Rodolfo Albano III
  13. San Juan City, Lone District Rep. Ronaldo Zamora
  14. Cavite, 5th District Rep. Roy Loyola
  15. Manila, 6th District Rep. Rosenda Ann Ocampo
  16. Valenzuela City, 1st District Rep. Wes Gatchalian
Source: ABS-CBN / PinoyTrending

List of Senators & Representatives Who Voted "NO" for DENR Sec. Gina Lopez Confirmation List of Senators & Representatives Who Voted "NO" for DENR Sec. Gina Lopez Confirmation Reviewed by Phil Newsome on 5/04/2017 Rating: 5

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.